Worksheets for Kids
Crafts for Kids

25 Newest Activities
Top 10 Activities
Follow DLTKs on Facebook   Follow DLTK's on Google  Follow DLTKs on Twitter   Follow DLTK's on Pinterest  

Animal Life Cycles

Contributed by Leanne Guenther

Animals that Grow Up (Simple Life Cycle):

Most animals including fish, mammals, reptiles and birds have very simple life cycles:

These animals have three stages -- before birth, young and adult.  The young are typically similar to the parent, just smaller.  The young slowly "grow" to become adults.



Amphibians, like frogs and newts, have a slightly more complicated life cycle.  They undergo a metamorphosis (a big change):


Animals that Undergo a Complete Metamorphosis:


These insects have four stages in their life cycle:

Animals that go through a complete metamorphosis are what my daughter Kaitlyn calls "Wow!" animals -- they go to bed looking one way and wake up a completely different creature.  Wow!


Animals that Undergo an Incomplete Metamorphosis:

About 10% of insects go through an incomplete metamorphosis.  They do not have a pupal form -- these include dragonflies, grasshoppers and cockroaches.

These insects have three stages in their life cycle:



Complete Metamorphosis

(egg/larva/pupa/adult) Butterfly with words   or  no words
Incomplete Metamorphosis (egg/nymph/adult) Dragonfly with words   or  no words
Metamorphosis (egg/tadpole/froglet/adult) Frog with words   or  no words
Arthropod Life Cycle (egg/spiderling/adult) Spider with words   or  no words
Bird Life Cycle (egg/chick/adult) Penguin with words or no words
Fish Life Cycle (birth/pup/adult) Great White Shark with words   or  no words
Mammal Life Cycle (birth/pup/adult) Brown Bat with words   or  no words
Reptile Life Cycle (egg/snakelet/adult) Snake     no words


Grade One
Grade Two
Grade Three
Grade Four
Language Arts
Lesson Plans
Theme Units

(bibliography)     (links)     (print help)     (privacy policy)

Copyright 1998-2015 DLTK's Inc. - All Rights Reserved