[Geography Index]    [India Crafts]   

KidZone Geography

View of Misty Temples
Photographed by Sven Scheuermeier on Unsplash

India, officially the Republic of India, is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by geographical area, the second-most populous country with a population of almost 1.4 billion people, making it the world's most populous democracy. A map of India 21.75 million of these live in New Delhi, the capital.

Mainland India is bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay of Bengal on the east; and it is bordered by Pakistan to the west; Bhutan, the People's Republic of China and Nepal to the north; and Bangladesh and Burma to the east. The Himalayas run across much of the North of the country, feeding huge rivers that flow across the country. India has a range of habitats animals with areas of mountain, grassland and rainforest environments. A large amount of land is used for farming, 63.7% of the population live in the countryside.

The Indian national symbols are a lotus flower and Bengal tiger. The currency is Rupeeā€™s, one US dollar equals 74 rupees.

Worksheets & Activities

Geography Facts

India Photos


Other links you might enjoy: